It’s Snowing in Atlanta

It’s snowing in Atlanta, and for the first time since 2011 (that I’m aware of), snow is sticking to the ground. Being from Canada where snow can be found on the ground every year during the winter, the reactions and conversations I heard today were entertaining. Someone at work joked: it’s like Canada in the summer!

Georgia Tech, where I work, closed at 1:30 PM, officially due to the severe weather warning, as posted on their Twitter feed. At noon I looked outside and saw a cm of slush on the roads. This wouldn’t be considered severe in the north, but here in the south, where there are no plows, no salt trucks, and drivers aren’t used to driving in the snow (to be honest, I’m not either), the weather is actually severe.

So I left work at 1:30, took a few photos of campus, and made my way home among heavy traffic from all the drivers who decided, like me, to head home early.

Me on a snowy Georgia Tech campus, January 28, 2014

Me on a snowy Georgia Tech campus, January 28, 2014

Warming up at a coffee shop today, a random guy came up to me and started a pleasant conversation.

Coffee shop guy: Whoa that’s a cool sweater, where’d’ya get it?
Me: uh, Thank you. Vancouver. Canada.
Coffee shop guy: Canadians are so much better at dressing in the Winter.

I don’t know if I could agree with him completely on that conjecture, but I thanked him for his kindness.

This entry was posted in Academics, Vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

