North Carolina Ski Trip

Skiing in the North Carolina Smoky Mountains doesn’t compare to skiing in B.C.. But when you live in Atlanta, $125 for the equipment rental, lift ticket, transportation, hotel and two meals is hard to beat. Granted, that price was that low because I went with a group of 40 people, and the January weather was so warm that all the snow was man-made, but that’s ok. I had fun.

My trip was a small adventure that took me to the Catalahooche Ski area, about 3 hours north of Atlanta. I met a lot of interesting people, including two C-17 mechanics from the USAF. A C-17 is a massive military transport aircraft.  “The British and Canadians have them, too”, one of them said proudly. He’s right. If you’re following the news, you may have seen that Canada sent a C-17 over to Mali recently.

I met a lot of friendly people. A group of 5 and 6 graders invited me to ski with them. Most of them fell down less often than I did, but they’re smaller and closer to the ground, so I don’t think that’s a fair comparison.

Someone from the south asked me if I had made igloos when I was growing up in Canada. To be completely honest, I wasn’t sure how they were made until I got home and found a lovely 1949 NFB documentary, How to Build an Igloo.

How to Build an Igloo by Douglas Wilkinson, National Film Board of Canada

Now I want to fly back to Canada to make an igloo. Though part of this inspiration is from a recent article I read about a guy from Edmonton recently built a pretty rainbow igloo not long ago.

I took a few photos from my trip using my cell, below is one of them.

View from the top of Cataloochee

View from the top of Cataloochee

This entry was posted in Hobbies, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to North Carolina Ski Trip

  1. Audrey says:

    Hey hello!!!
    Just want to say thank you for your ISM…
    I’m going to have my calc test tomorrow and I’m really grateful that I ran into your website…
    Seriously thankful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Regards,
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

